Real Writers. Real Opinions. No Boundaries.

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2017 Has Been Awarded to ICAN

Twitter via Buzzfeed

The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) is the recipient of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize. More than 100 countries around the world form ICAN, and it is non-governmental organization.

The Peace Prize has been awarded at a tense time between the US and it’s nuclear deals with North Korea and Iran.

The chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen, has said that the award is “not kicking anyone’s leg” in response to the award being directed at Trump. She said that ICAN is trying to “stigmatise, prohibit, and eliminate nuclear weapons”. In a long statement, Reiss-Andersen told journalists:

“We live in a world where the risk of nuclear weapons being used is greater than it has been for a long time. Some states are modernising their nuclear arsenals, and there is a real danger that more countries will try to procure nuclear weapons, as exemplified by North Korea. Nuclear weapons pose a constant threat to humanity and all life on Earth.”

She continued:

“Through binding international agreements, the international community has previously adopted prohibitions against land mines, cluster munitions, and biological and chemical weapons. Nuclear weapons are even more destructive, but have not yet been made the object of a similar international legal prohibition.”

The award was decided by a five-member panel, who decided to give it to those who have worked the hardest in making progress between the US, North Korea, and Iran. ICAN beat out several other possible recipients such as the founders of the Iran nuclear deal, German chancellor Angela Merkel, the American Civil Liberties Union, and the UN refugee agency.

[via Buzzfeed]

You might also like